Sketchbook

My documentation of drawings, sketches & recent artwork

Shading Series: Portrait of a Kitten

kitten

Materials (.9 Mechanical Pencil, kneaded eraser, tortillon)

Time: 3 hours

This is my 3rd drawing of my Shading Series done from Lee Hammond’s book. And this was my first drawing done with a tortillon. I don’t know why I haven’t picked any up sooner! It was a dream to blend with. It was also my first drawing of an animal where I used fur/hair in the details, because if you’ve been following a while, you know it’s a weak area of mine. It was difficult to draw and shade, and add detail and I started over and had a lot of redos. However, I think it was a great learning experience and I look forward to practicing my sketches of furry animals 🙂

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Shading Series: Portrait of a Kitten

  1. I’m so excited that you have posted more artwork! I love these! And BTW I nominated you for the Liebster Award, you don’t have to do the requirements but yeah. http://teeneditingprocess.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/about-me-monday-the-liebster-awards/

Leave a Reply

