Sketchbook

My documentation of drawings, sketches & recent artwork

Shading Series: Seal

This week, I’m really working on my technique. And I decided I really want to work on shading. On a whim, I purchased Lee Hammonds “Big Book of Drawing”, and am going to go through her animal section to work on my shading technique.

The first animal she starts out with is a seal:

seal

Materials: Mechanical pencil

Time: 45 mins

She has her reader shade with blending stumps (tortillons), however the only “blending stump” I have is my finger, so you can kinda tell in some areas that the shading could’ve been smoother. The animals in her series progressively get harder. Next up is a flamingo, so stay tuned 😉

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Shading Series: Seal

  1. Pingback: Shading Series: Flamingo | Sketchbook

Leave a Reply

