Sketchbook

My documentation of drawings, sketches & recent artwork

Face of a Lonely Girl.

Image

Time: 2 hours

Materials: 4B, HB, kneaded eraser.

Since I’ve been drawing “headless people” lately, I figured I’d draw a face. Let me just say, portraits are HARD. I rushed through this, which is probably evident. I like the emotion in the girls face. I’ve identified with the feelings she is experiencing: lonliness, sadness, hopelessness. Thank God I’m on the other side. There IS hope, there is such thing as victory & overcoming. And that’s my story, and that’s why I drew this girl. She USED to be me. I felt what she felt and drawing this “self-portrait” I guess you can say, was a refreshing reminder of where I came from–a dark place. It’s not the case anymore. Now I’m whole, healed and FREE. And though this was the old “me”, it’s never a bad thing to reminisce about where you ONCE were, as it serves as a reminder to be grateful for how far you’ve come. 

PS I still haven’t improved at drawing hair… womp womp. 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Face of a Lonely Girl.

  1. Glad to hear you are free and healed 🙂
    Dark places can be hard to come out of.
    As for the hair – I find it so hard too. Get bored with it to be honest – prefer to spend my time on more expressive pieces of the anatomy, but I really should work at it.

  2. There was once a guy who attended our weekly figure drawing session who would draw headless figures. I don’t know why he’d leave the head out but that was his thing. Kayla, I think you can lose your fear of drawing the head by just simplifying it. They’re all the same, two eyes, a nose, a mouth, two ears, hair/no hair. chin, etc. You’ll just need to learn their proper placement. There are many sites you can look up. Here is one that you can look at but you’ll probably find better ones. http://www.learning-to-see.co.uk/portrait-drawing-proportions
    I know portraits won’t be full frontal all the time but you can still apply the rules whether it’s a three-quarter view or profile. The one thing you have to guard against is being too mechanical with the measurements. You still have to draw what you see but having the knowledge of the typical measurements will really help you get it right. Happy drawing! 🙂 Looking forward to seeing more of your portraits.

    • Thank you! I will definitely check that link out, I appreciate it. I know I can benefit from any tips out there. One of these days I’ll attempt a drawing of a full figure 😉 Thanks for taking the time to comment.

  3. wow! she’s gorgeous OwO (its a lovely thing that you have overcome your troubles, I do agree, looking back gives us a reminder of where were we and where we should go -w-)

  4. Pingback: The Tango | Sketchbook

Leave a Reply

