Sketchbook

My documentation of drawings, sketches & recent artwork

Tree frog (take 2)

Hello! I haven’t gotten around to posting in a while–doesn’t mean I haven’t been drawing 😉 I will probably do a group of posts in a few weeks. I’ve been working on some sketches for Christmas presents for the family. I also was given some oil pastels, so we’ll see what becomes of that, they are a little intimidating.

If you can’t tell, I love drawing frogs. Here is the first one I drew. I finished this lovely this week:

treefrog

Time: Long (7-8 hoursish)

Materials: Mostly HB, 4H, B & kneaded eraser.

Again, I love tree frogs, and find them super fun to draw. I purchased THIS  picture from Shutterstock so I could own the rights ($19!!! –holy cow, anyone know any cheaper RF stock photog sites?) This was my first drawing that I’ve done from a real photograph. I’m really trying to master translating color into value through the pencil. You really have to train your brain to see in a different way. Also, sometimes I think I “overshade”, maybe it’s just my style but I was trained to use an intense array of values, so in most my drawings you will find black, white & all the values inbetween. I think it adds depth and character to a drawing, but on the other hand I can see where it can make it seem less realistic.

Part of the reason this took me so long is because I gave some extra attention to the details of the frog. For example, instead of just shading the belly (and under the mouth), I added the bumps/circles to give it a more realistic look. I also gave some more detail to the stick this time. As much as I wanted to rush through & complete it (this is my biggest challenge on all my drawings, I just want to get to the finished product)–I’m glad I spent the extra time working out the details.

Thanks for reading! Feel free to ask any questions in the comment section 🙂

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Tree frog (take 2)

  1. katejoubran on said:

    This is really good!

  2. Kristie C from Big Horn, Wyoming
    So cute!

  3. What a nice frog ! I understand you enjoy to draw it !

Leave a Reply

