Sketchbook

My documentation of drawings, sketches & recent artwork

Frog on a Log

Materials: .5 mechanical pencil, 4H, HB, B, 2B, 4B, 6B, kneaded eraser, q-tip

With this picture, I used an instructors tutorial (I made modifications) for the frog and I freehanded the log. Surprisingly the hardest part was actually drawing the frog–getting the proportions and features to look realistic was a little bit challenging. For me, the shading & blending was the easy part. I do not have a blending stump, but used my fingers & a q-tip. (I actually don’t recommend using a q-tip, I wanted to avoid getting a ton of graphite all over my hands, but q-tips don’t blend easy, the cotton absorbs too much lead). The whole thing took about 4-5 hours. I drew everything with my mechanical & added a tremendous amount of layers starting with a HB & worked up to a 6B for the darkest spots.  Anyways, overall, I’m pleased with the way it turned out. I kinda want to go back and add some more detail & shading, especially to the frog’s back & more detail & highlights in the log. But you can bet I will be drawing more tree frogs! They’re my favorite 🙂

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Frog on a Log

  1. Great job kayla!! Those are good drawings! I have an idea for a tshirt next year for brest cancer awareness that you need to draw for me!!!

  2. Sandra Hatcher on said:

    This is excellent. I look forward to more of your work.

  3. Pingback: Tree frog (take 2) « Sketchbook

Leave a Reply

